The 2018 Billabong – MiPost Welsh Nationals

The 2018 Billabong MiPost Welsh Nationals

P.L.D. Open & Junior champ for 2018                                   Pic. Catie Gaskell

The 2018 Billabong MiPost Welsh Nationals were held this past bank holiday weekend under glorious Pembrokeshire sunshine and whilst the surf didn’t reach what we’ve seen in years previous, it was a consistent crystalline 2ft throughout the weekend, giving plenty of opportunity for competitors to enjoy their heats.

Langland’s Patrick Langdon Dark made the event his own taking the win in the Open division and the U18 Boys, a feat only managed three times before in the entire history of the Welsh Nationals.

P.L.D. Open & Junior champ for 2018    Pic. Catie Gaskell

His surfing was outstanding all weekend; looking a threat in every heat he surfed with his cat like reflexes suiting the conditions at Freshwater West. The Open final had started with local standout Alex Morris taking an early lead whilst Rhys Barfield and Ryan Thomas struggled to find a rhythm, but Pat’s patient approach paid off and he picked off two of the best waves in the final and surfed them impeccably to take an unassailable lead. Alex Morris would take second with Barfield third and Ryan Thomas fourth. Aberavon’s Jo Morris was second to Pat in the U18 boys.

Jo Morris fast and responsive.                                                   Pic. David Pearce Photography




Jo Dennison Welsh Ocean Champion!                                                                 Pic: Catie Gaskell

Jo Dennison claimed yet another Welsh women’s title and this one would’ve no doubt been one of the hardest. Emily Williams was ripping all weekend and Swansea’s Alys Barton is coming up fast and was very dangerous in the small conditions.

Jo has long been a standout at Freshwater West and I’m sure that helped swing the balance of the final her way, using local knowledge and experience to edge an incredibly tight heat. Alys would at least go home with the U18 girls title.

Eli Perin Davies – Remember the name!                                                                                   Pic. Mark De’boer LLoyd

Another surfer who could make a claim for surfer of the event is Ogmore’s Eli Perrins Davies. At the tender age of eleven, Eli took out the U12, U14 and U16 boys titles, an amazing achievement considering he was surfing against boys up to five years older than him. Eli will surely be looking to take on the UK and European scene next.

2 x European champ Elliot Dudley back in the vest!                                                                                   Pic. Catie Gaskell

Elliot Dudley made his first appearance in the Welsh nationals in seven years and put on an incredible display of traditional longboarding that, given the conditions, was probably the outstanding performance of the event. He took the win in the longboard over a very talented field which included fellow finalists Evan Rogers, local boy Raife Gaskell and Timmy Aylett. Pembrokeshire’s Georgina Lewtas claimed the women’s longboard title.

Vaughanie boosting past the over somethings.                                                                                   Pic. Mark De’boer Lloyd

In the continuing rivalry between Llantwit’s Mark Vaughan and Porthcawl’s Greg Owen, it was Vaughanie who took home top honours this time around, getting one back on his old nemesis to take home the Masters and Grand Masters titles. Despite the small surf for both finals, Mark surfed fantastically; getting in powerful manoeuvres whilst his competitors somewhat struggled to find anything that allowed them enough of a canvas to challenge him, even trying an aerial on his last
wave in the Masters final. Jamie Bateman took home the Kahuna title and another Llantwit Major stalwart Colin Bright would take home the Grand Kahunas.

Alys Barton put in a strong performance                                                                                   Pic. Mark De’boer Lloyd

Another first for the WSF was the introduction of a mini grommet expression session which comprised of a dozen or more youngsters all still in primary school who’ll hopefully go on to take up surfing into their adult years and I’m sure that with the talent already on display, there were a few future Welsh champions in the making. Many thanks go out to Sam and Sophie Moore, and Greg Owen for putting in the hours to make this happen

Ryan Thomas finally rid of the monkey on his back to deservedly make the Open Final. Champ next year?                                                                                Pic. Mark De’boer Lloyd

The WSF would like to thank its sponsors Billabong and MiPost without which none of this could be possible. Also a massive thank you to Christian Surfers UK, all the organisers, surfers and spectators for making the 2018 Billabong MiPost Welsh Nationals a success. See you all next year.

A Highlights Reel, captured by local film maker Jack Abbot, summarising some of the weekends three days of action can be found here

To our Sponsors and Supporters, a huge THANK YOU.

Here are those that made it all possible:

   Ken Vaughan of MiPost and McLays Printers

Chris Seage of Cove Distribution on behalf of Billabong

Jonathan Williams of Café Mor

The local authorities: 

 The National Trust and Pembrokeshire Parks.



 Catie Gaskell, Mark de’Boer Lloyd, Martin John


Contest Directors:  

 Craig Burrows, Stuart Bentley and Huw John.


Head Judge:  

 James Macgregor.



Tim Aylett, Jamie Bateman, Rhydian Brewer and Coryn Daniel.


Beach Marshall: 

Naomi Hume.



Anne Webster Blythe and Michaela Kuhne.


Event Support: 

Johnny Hillman, Morgan Hendry and the crew atChristian Surfers Wales.



Please note that all photos are not for third party use without prior permission. 

Copyright remains with the photographer as named and credited above.


Grom U12

1 – Eli Perrin Davies
2 – Elliot Barton
3 – Sol Williams

Cadet U14

1 – Eli Perrin Davies
2 – Rudder Rava
3 – Jed Wood
4 – Blake Jones

Youth U16

1 – Eli Perrin Davies
2 – Alys Barton
3 – Jed Wood
4 – Ejay Cogger

U18 Longboard

1 – Tom Horn
2 – Blake Jones
3 – Ejay Cogger

Under 18 Boys

1 – Pat Langdon Dark
2 – Jo Morris
3 – Eli Perrin Davies
4 – Ejay Cogger

Under 18 Girl

1 – Alys Barton

Ladies Longboard

1 – Georgina Lewtas
2 – Emily Williams
2 – Snowi
2 – Ellen Jones

Mens Longboard

1 – Elliot Dudley
2 – Evan Rogers
3 – Raife Gaskell
4 – Tim Aylet


1 – Mark Vaughan
2 – Greg Owen
3 – Morgan James
4 – Chris Seage


1 – Mark Vaughan
2 – Greg Owen
3 – Jason Cogger
4 – Neil Newman
4 – Craig Burrows


1 – Jamie Bateman
2 – Colin Bright
3 – Craig Burrows
4 – Neil Newman

Grand Kahuna

1 – Colin Bright
2 – Simon Blower
3 – Adrian Boyles

Womens Open

1 – Jo Dennison
2 – Alys Barton
3 – Emily Williams
4 – Georgina Lewtas

Open Men

1 – Pat Langdon Dark
2 – Alex Morris
3 – Rhys Barfield
4 – Ryan Thomas

Alex Morris, runner up after a weekend of solid quick surfing. Pic. Mark De’boer Lloyd

The Welsh Surfing Federation

We are the National Governing Body for surfing in Wales, affiliated to the ISA, ESF and Sport Wales